Rus Eng

A documentary photographer, a journalist from Russia. Currently resides in Australia.

In 2003, Iulia graduated from Tomsk State University, Department of Journalism.

During 2016-2017, Iulia studied at DocDocDoc, a documentary photography school in St. Petersburg.

Iulia’s special interest is documenting the history of spaces. Spaces absorb events and moods, while a person becomes their part. A person “enters spaces” as if he or she enters somebody’s house. While talking to the place, he or she supplements the space or receives impulses from its environment.

In her series Rooted in the Past, Iulia talks about sacred sites of Uzbekistan hosting 1000-year-old sycamore trees. People set up shops, museums and schools in the hollows of these trees.  When you touch their trunks, you lose your sense of time.

An Hour Before series is about “temporarily empty” crowded beaches of Turkey and Thailand. In spaces where the multilingual buzz is all around, morning stillness is precious. Acoustic sterility allows listening to thy self.

The domain of Hugs narrows down the space of different continents to one room. It plays music from the early last century and people speak the same language with their bodies.

Migratory People series personalizes the concept of cosmopolitanism, of space without borders. Participants are documented during their moves – on the line between what’s customary and the unknown.

Since 2018, Iulia has been documenting life around the dried-up Aral Sea. The full sea turned into a lifeless desert. The wounded space set an ultimatum to the fishing villages.

Iulia’s works have been published in Russian and international publications: Tomskaya Nedelya, Rossiyskaya Gazeta, Versty, Svobodniy Sakhalin, Ogonyok, Zapovednik, Edge of Humanity, Dodho Photography Magazine, Uzbekistan Airways, Mail.ru, Lenta.ru, Alternatives Journal, Bird in Flight.

She is always taking part in individual and group exhibitions.

RusEng

Документальный фотограф, журналист из России. В настоящее время живет в Австралии.

В 2003 году Юлия окончила факультет журналистики Томского государственного университета.

В 2017 году окончила Школу документальной фотографии «ДокДокДок» в Санкт-Петербурге.

Особый интерес Юлии – документирование памяти пространства.

Пространства вбирают в себя события и настроения, а человек становится их частью. Человек «заходит в пространства», как заходят в гости. В диалоге с местом дополняет пространство или сам обогащается импульсами среды.

В серии «Корнями в прошлом» Юлия рассказывает о святых местах Узбекистана, где живут 1000-летние чинары. В дуплах чинар люди устраивают магазины, музеи и школы. А припав к стволу, теряют ощущение времени.

Серия «За час До» о «временно опустевших» многолюдных пляжах Турции и Таиланда. В пространствах, где многоязычный гул слышен со всех сторон, утренняя тишина становится наградой. Акустическая стерильность позволяет услышать собственное Я.

«Территория Объятий» сужает пространство разных континентов до одной комнаты. В ней звучит музыка начала прошлого века, а люди говорят на едином языке тела.

Серия «Перелетные люди» персонализирует идею космополитизма, пространства без границ. Участники задокументированы в момент переезда - на границе между привычным и неизвестным.

С 2018 года Юлия документирует жизнь вокруг высохшего Аральского моря. Полное рыбы море между Казахстаном и Узбекистаном превратилось в безжизненную пустыню. Раненное пространство выставило ультиматум рыбацким поселкам.

Юлия публиковалась в российских и международных изданиях: Томская неделя, Российская газета, Версты, Свободный Сахалин, Огонек, Заповедник, Edge of Humanity, Dodho Photography Magazine, Uzbekistan Airways, Lenta.ru, Mail.ru, Alternatives Journal, Bird in Flight.

Постоянный участник индивидуальных и групповых выставок.